Good news: hope. Not everything is darkness

Sometimes there’s better news. In this case, not the jailing – for an indeterminate term – of the vile beyond words thug who took away the sight of Tina Nash. Because along with Tina, i don’t think giving him a smidgeon of additional attention is worth even half a breath.

No: the joy, insofar as anything positive can come from this story, is the fact that Tina seems to be starting to live once more.

The story is simple, awful. This man, that Tina had forgiven, taken back and tried to help after previous incidents of domestic violence came home drunk after a night out with friends. He throttled Tina into unconsciousness – and then gouged her eyes out.

That is atrocity. Though it is not altogether unprecedented. This guy is not the only psychopath out there, and i suspect it will be a long time before the news is entirely free of such nastiness.

I shuddered at the time, reading the description of the attack. But what made me cry – what really upset – was an interview with Tina after he had been found guilty. She sounded as though she had given up – as, given her injuries, would be her right. She had little left to live for, beyod being there for her children: but out of duty, not joy. Sadly, she owned: ‘I actually look forward to going to sleep because in my dreams I have sight. It’s when I wake up that the truth hits home.’

I cried for her. I cried because, it felt, he’d “won”.

Which is why reports yesterday on sentencing made me feel just that bit better. The perpetrator of this act will go to prison for a minimum of six years: and while that feels low, the actual sentence is indeterminate. If he does not satisfy parole board that he is no longer dangerous, he will be in prison til he dies.

That i like, as i probably shouldn’t: because however revolting the act, the actor, one should not take pleasure in their punishment.

Still, what turns this story round is a more recent interview with Tina, who has now begun a new life, advising women on how to deal with domestic violence.

Last night, it was reported, she says she has turned a corner. She said: “I just woke up and thought I have got to get on with my life. That’s what I did, I got up, sorted out my clothes and just got on with it.

“I am trying to do everything, I am having a good go. I don’t want people to feel sorry for me because I don’t feel sorry for myself.I feel stronger. I am ready to take on new challenges.

“I feel a lot more confident, definitely. I am getting the old me back. I don’t think I am brave. I am surviving.”

She added: “You only get one life so I am not going to let him ruin it.” Above all, her children did not treat her differently and she just wanted to make them proud.

Amen to that! Nothing will ever make up for what was done to Tine. But in the midst of this (literal) darkness at least this small spark of light – her light – has not been extinguished. Let’s all be glad at that.

jane xx

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Sam said,

    Well said.

    She is quite inspirational, even though I had not the strength to read all of her story.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

