Social girl…

Its weird. Workwise, academic-wise, wise-wise, i spend a lot of my time wearing serious glasses and being all insightful. Some of the time, i even get paid for that. 🙂

But what cheers me up?

This morning, i woke in a snit. Really not feeling good. Headache…which was probably still a carry-over from where i head butted a car door on Monday (i kid you not…though it WAS an accident): tired; aware that i still have a load of work ahead of me before i can put my feet up for the weekend.

So i was in a mood. Bad mood. So bad that being in a mood made me even more in a mood: like, i get cross with myself for being cross…and the two feed off each other.

What’s a girl to do in a situation like that? Not, methinks, talk about it.

The mood lasted til shortly after i hit Stamford and had a little wander. The people and the fresh air started to lift my spirits.

I nipped into one of my regular shops and an assistant recognised me: came up and started chatting about skinnies…and work…and zumba. Not long. Just a nice empty natter.

Then i nipped into Tesco for a sandwich and a girl in front of me in the queue eyed up my converses. Well: they ARE a sort of luminescent pink and i am very proud of them. 🙂

Again: just a nice empty natter, but lovely. Smiles exchanged: words swapped. By the time i got back to my car, and on my way to zumba, i was happy, smiling again.

Is it weird? Maybe not. (Who said “airhead”?) There is enough seriousness in my life and i totally like that sometimes one can just put all that to one side and go try on clothes. 🙂

The track below is dedicated to anyone else who feels the same.

Jane
xx

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Jennifer said,

    🙂. Thank you, a blast from (my) past

  2. 2

    Martha said,

    glad to read of this Jane,

    yes it is lovely when cheerful interactions and casual affirmation can blow the cobwebs out of our stressful lives and we can return to the fray refreshed and bright eyed. (horrible song for me BTW, a blast of dank and fetid air from my past. Oh it is all so subjective ain’t it? *grin*)

    my first thought for a song that expressed carefree joie de vivre was Native New Yorker http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B6dXFvNipc0&feature=related

  3. 3

    Alex said,

    ooh yes, think I was about 7 when I first heard that song. Thanks for the reminder.

  4. 4

    Shirley Anne said,

    I think you should take a leaf out of Petula’s book and go downtown for some R & R. Forget about your troubles/work and go enjoy yourself. I hope your head feels better soon Jane

    Shirley Anne xxx


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

