The terror!

After a really good day (of which more later) i catch up with a friend just back on hormones after a three month holiday. Personal reasons.

She suffered! It was horrid.

After just ten days, she tells me, she felt the effect: she lost her sparkle. She started to feel down.

OMG! I am due to be off hormones for six weeks prior to the op. ON the one hand, i will remain on anti-androgen, which should lessen the impact. On the other, the anti-androgen is likely to make it much more likely that i will experience hot flushes and a range of other side-effects.

I am so not looking forward to that!

No. Let’s put it more precisely: i am terrified of that bit.

😦

jane
xx

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    andrea said,

    many of the same symptoms i’m having in my peri-menopause… once you start hot flushes we’ll be able to sleep with the bedroom window open – bring it on🙂

  2. 2

    Wickedly selfish Andrea… I like it.

  3. 3

    Lucy Melford said,

    I dare say I’m a one-off freak, but I didn’t experience the slightest problem. But others I knew of did. It seemed that if you’d been taking anti-androgens, took oestragen tablets rather than used patches, and were anyway sensitive and emotional – none of which applied to me – then you might suffer. But then you were also – according to Dr Curtis, who I saw three days ago – likely to get more pre-op benefit from your hormones. Such as larger breasts.

    I am trying to imagine the sense of togetherness you might feel if both of you are hot-flushing at the same time!

    Will the cameras be on hand?

    Lucy


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

