Weird and spooky stuff

Now this one is utterly weird. Scary, too.

I had heard of it happening when very pissed – but honestly, I can’t remember anything like it happening to me before.

Last night, drifting off to sleep, I am in that pleasant half way state between awake and comatose, when I start to feel slightly woozy. A little like I felt earlier this year as the anaesthetic started to take effect, in the seconds before I passed out.

Definite wooziness.

I started: tried to lift myself up; and couldn’t. There was a sense of an arm holding me tightly around my chest: a hand covering my mouth. The taste of something chemical.

An image – Lord knows where this came from – of my trying to get on a bus. Struggling…and feeling myself pulled back.

Like I said. Weird and scary. Moments later, the sense was gone. I was fully awake and scared enough to turn my light on, pace the house for a fw minutes. No phantom prowlers. Nothing.

Any theories (apart from too much cheese?).

Jane
xx

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    chrissie said,

    Hormones…. ?

    And perhaps underlying it all, a little anxiety.

    Hugs
    chrissie
    xxxx

  2. 2

    Tessa said,

    It’s called, uh, thing.

    Sleep paralasis? Sounds like that.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sleep_paralysis < – this thing.

  3. 3

    Stace said,

    This sounds very similar to what I have occasionally. I wake up, but can’t move or breath – I go into a panic at not being able to breath and then suddenly it dissapears and I can breath again.

    It’s very scary when it happens – thankfully it doesn’t happen that often.

    Stace

  4. 4

    Spooky indeed. A great portrayal of the sensations of sleep paralysis here


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

