Good news – and style matters

Nice. I am still occasionally picking up some of the old consultancy work i used to be known for. Very nice to be asked, yesterday, by a former work colleague if i was available.

Because he hadn’t asked me for a while and the thing with freelance work, of course, is that you never know. Sure: one or two places have very obviously dropped me. Someone known to be a writer on sex, sexuality and relationships does not play too well in some quarters.

The transitioning is probably just icing on the cake.

But apart from the obvious one or two, it is hard to tell. In the past, there were consultancies that would ring me up once every twelve months or longer. We’ve had a recession. New government. That sort of thing.

So definitely nice that someone should remember i am here and be more than happy to put me in front of a large corp as…well, as me. Now just the small matter of negotiating loos and all the other minor irritants of being on-site in a large company.

And the wider issue, of what to wear. Its been a while since i’ve been out and about as a consultant. Much of the work over the last year has been home-based, so no need of finery.

The last work clothes i bought were when i was living as male…and about 4 stone heavier. Besides, they all went to charity weeks ago.

So now seems as good a time as any to start to invest in a decent business/smart wardrobe.

And i haven’t the faintest what to go for. Definitely NOT a power-dressing kind of girl. Want feminine, but not lightweight or showy.

Sensible, but stylish. Sadly, size 18 top…which rules out the size fascists who refuse to stock anything over a 16.

Oh, help!

My inclination is to wander Oxford St on Monday morning and find a store with a personal shopper or style assistant and throw myself on their mercy.

But all suggestions definitely gratefully received.

Jane
xx

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Get yourself to a decent department store with plenty of ranges and get the personal shopper to help you.

    Wrap dresses always look smart in a work environment without looking too formal or secretaryish. Team with a smart jacket or cardigan and knee boots. Just be careful with patterns – go for small ones if you opt for a print over a self-coloured wrap.

    If you’re after separates, get yourself 2-3 good quality skirts, knee-length or just below, and stick to neutral colours like black, navy or brown. Then go for tops. With a smart jacket, you can wear anything with a skirt – t-shirt, wrap top, blouse, jumper… I tend to go for a black skirt and use colour on the top half. And I’m a big fan of knee boots as they always look good, go with almost anything and can be worm pretty much all year round except when it’s really hot.

  2. 2

    Stace said,

    Congrats on the consultancy work.

    As to what to wear – I’m going to go with the personal stylist option. I have little idea for myself, if I was to offer my advice here, i’d also advise you not to folow itπŸ™‚

    Stace

  3. 3

    Faith-Anne Lesbirel said,

    Go to LTS on Chiltern Street as their sale rack is very big! Although try and avoid Crispins and Magnus shoe shops on your way there…

  4. 4

    Rachel Maton said,

    I’m not quite in the same line of work as you but over the last three years have had cause to quite a fewl court cases and hearings where i prefer not to use a solicitor. I usually attend with a McKenzie friend. My dear friend and last ex girlfriend Carrie does a lot of this type of representing and has yet to lose a case. More than i can say for any solicitor I know.

    There are also the usual GIC appointments in London and IMHO there is NOTHING worse than turning up for these looking like you are going on a date or clubbing. Consequently a large section of my wardrobe has evolved in the “professional” direction.

    The above suggestions are excellent but also before setting out take an informal survey of what the outfits professional women in your apparent age group are wearing (clean living trans women often look quite young for their age). You are not going to like everything you see of course but that has value also.

    Find a personal shopper who understands how colour works with the individual.

    I am fortunate in that my Mother’s house overlooks the local station which allows me to do my “fashion sampling” without hanging around the platform/ticket hall which is of course always open to misinterpretation.

    The first thing I noticed when looking over the women on the London train is that skirts are not nearly as popular as they once were although well cut autumn dresses are as ever a joy and still often seen on the six fifteen.

    This is not a problem, well cut slacks with dress jackets and suitable blouses allow for many combinations. This is my particular favourite style and with a little tasteful jewellery really does give me that look good/feel good factor.

    Most of us have to deal with the (in my case) 16-18 top 12 waist syndrome so stores with a good range of separates are essential, don’t break your heart by looking at the the “must have” business suits that you cant approximate in separates.

    Another source which I have found useful is Gok Wan, he has done several programmes on work wear and I believe there are also several books.

    http://style.uk.msn.com/fashion/photos.aspx?cp-documentid=151073744

    Happy dressing! xx


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

