Sparkling

On Friday night i went to the Ball. Well: “Night of the Senses“, actually. It was magical.

OK. The Ball itself had its little difficulties: more of that later. But overall, the night was wonderful because…because it was another first. I anticipated. I agonised over my dress. I conned my step-daughter, Megan into making my dress for me. 🙂

I put on glitter, heels and sparkly shoes. And then i just flew!

No-one can ever take that away from me.

The outfit. I am leaving a small space here for a picture.

{andrea…please, please upload the pic!!!} [done! a.x]

It was green, blue, shimmery, chiffony faerie. Not real chiffon. But in the dark and under the spotlights, who could tell? A little (green) body paint. Sparkle for my eyes.

A little too much hair gel: i regretted that the next day.

Wings of silk. OK. Not real silk either. But in the dark….who could tell?

Thanks to Faith, who took my initial idea and the poor attempt i had made at realising it and pointed out how it wouldn’t work. Thanks, next, to Megan, who took the idea, plus several metres of something and sewed them into place. Congratulations, too, as the dress received more than its fair share of compliments.

My heels didn’t quite survive the evening. That is, i didn’t break them: but after some six hours of standing on them, and approaching that point where the pain in toes and ankles was beginning to be constant (and excruciating), i returned to plan A, shrugged off my shoes, and spent the rest of the night barefoot.

Oh. And there was, too, the little matter of an award.

I am now officially the UK’s erotic writer of the year, 2010. I am glad that the work for which it was given – a rather serious, but short, booklet on discrimination on ground of sexuality – was written before i came out.

Transitioning, i seem sometimes to receive attention that goes beyond what i feel i merit on grounds of ability alone.

Anyway: its called “Beyond the Circle”: go buy it here if you are interested.

As for the award, it was – it is – a little inappropriate. I think it rather vulgar, although andrea seems to like it. It comes in the shape of an enormous golden penis. With wings.

Should we let the boy take it in to “Show and tell”? Probably not: Social Services would be round in a flash.

So now it sits on our mantelpiece, the ultimate career irony. Here i am trying to lose one phallic object: and the great and the good get together and award me a second.

jane
xx

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Karen said,

    Hi!

    Dress looks great – and well done for the award! Would I still be able to get that copy of Beyond the Circle at all?

    Thanks

    Karen


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

